Richard Dawkins needs a hug

Richard Dawkins is performing in a holiday special called “Nine Lessons and Carols for the Godless,” a show intended to recontextualize Christmas as a celebration of rationality. Dawkins says he’s taking part because he’s “fed up with atheists being portrayed as Scrooges, trying to rain on Christmas.”

Is he surprised by this portrayal? This is coming from the guy who claims raising a child in a religious household is a form of child abuse, that people who pray to God while they’re dying of cancer are “know-nothings,” that faith is like a “virus,” that humans are nothing but self-reproducing robots, that religion is “anti-human,” that people who believe in God are either uneducated or insane, and who is now crusading against Harry Potter for being “anti-scientific.” Yep, he’s a real charmer.

One response to “Richard Dawkins needs a hug

  1. I wonder how Richard Dawkins feels about being very justifiably and quite humourously portrayed as an Atheist Supremacist? 😉

    ‘The Atheist Supremacist’s Song’

    aka ‘I Am The Very Model Of An Atheist Supremacist’

    I am the very model of an Atheist Supremacist
    I’m an Intellectual, Evangelical, Godless Evolutionist
    I know the crimes of Christians, and I quote their fights historical
    From Jerusalem to Ireland, in order categorical

    I’m very well acquainted, too, with matters biological
    I understand equivocation, both scientific and theological
    About the “Holey Bible” I’m teeming with a lot o’ news
    With many fearful facts about Christians and the Jews

    With many fearful facts about Christians and the Jews
    With many fearful facts about Christians and the Jews
    With many fearful facts about Christians and those darn Jews

    I’m very good at bigotry and anti-religious insults
    I know the scientific names of beings animalculous
    In short, in matters biological, theological, and religious
    I am the very model of an Atheist Supremacist

    In short, in matters biological, theological, and religious
    He is the very model of an Atheist Supremacist

    I know God’s mythic history, from Osiris to the (Day of Yule)
    I answer to my critics, I’ve a petty taste for ridicule
    I quote in elegiacs all the crimes of Heliogabalus
    In comics I will fight those other gods who are so fabulous

    I can’t tell undoubting Muslims from Bahá’ís or Zoroastrians
    But know the croaking chorus from those corpse-cold Unitarians
    Then I can hum a fugue of which I’ve heard the music’s Rapical
    And whistle at the “fairy tales” of infernal nonsense Biblical

    And whistle at the “fairy tales” of infernal nonsense Biblical
    And whistle at the “fairy tales” of infernal nonsense Biblical
    And whistle at the “fairy tales” of infernal nonsense oh so Biblical

    Then I can write a bashing book of Biblical enormity
    And tell you ev’ry detail of Creationism’s deformity
    In short, in matters biological, Biblical, and religious
    I am the very model of an Atheist Supremacist

    In short, in matters biological, Biblical, and religious
    He is the very model of an Atheist Supremacist

    In fact, when I know what is meant by “Babylon” and “churlish”
    When I can tell at sight a Mormon from a Whirling Dervish
    When such affairs as prayers and “crackers” I’m more wary at
    And when I know precisely what is meant by “Eat your hat”

    When I have learnt what progress has been made in modern funnery
    When I know more of tactlessness than a novice in a nunnery
    In short, when I’ve a smattering of fundamental strategy
    You’ll say a better atheist had never spat at G

    You’ll say a better atheist had never spat at G
    You’ll say a better atheist had never spat at G
    You’ll say a better atheist had never ever spat at G

    For my religious knowledge, though it’s narrowy and shallowy
    Has only been brought down to the early Nineteenth century
    But still, in matters theological, minimal, and religious
    I am the very model of an Atheist Supremacist

    But still, in matters theological, minimal, and religious
    He is the very model of an Atheist Supremacist

Leave a Reply

